Quote:
Originally Posted by Refhoop
This must have been how the kids felt sitting in Dr. James Naismith' P.E. class when he divulged the original 13 rules... BRILLIANT!!!!
So I'm crystal clear: In Case 2.A Why wouldn't a foul prior to the shot be a team foul and no shot? Is it because we have a double whistle?
Or should I just race you to the table :0
|
In the 2a play the shooter has 1. jumped into air and released ball. 2. The ball has gone through the basket--(try ended--now ball dead). 3. the rebounding foul by the shooter's teammate occurs after the ball goes through basket. 4. The shooter is fouled while still in the air--(airborne shooter).
As Nevada said, the rebounding foul is ignored because the ball was dead. The foul against the shooter is penalized even after the ball is dead because he is an airborne shooter. (Note--see Bob's earlier post. If the shot is missed the try has ended but ball remains alive like any other play so the rebounding foul isn't ignored.)
Finally, and what you are thinking about in your question above,--if the rebounding foul by the shooter's teammate occurred prior to the release of the ball (shot) it would be come dead at that time. continuous motion does not apply to fouls by teammates. The shooter is not an airborne shooter. The rebounding foul would be a team control foul. B ball out of bounds. The foul on the shooter would be ignored unless flagrant or intentional.