| 
			
			 
			
				Mon Nov 23, 2015, 01:26pm
			
			
			
		 | 
	| 
		
			
			| Official Forum Member |  | 
					Join Date: Mar 2007 Location: Wyoming 
						Posts: 111
					      |  | 
	
	| 
			
			
	Quote: 
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by bballref3966  By rule (no) or by NFHS interpretation (yes)?   2007-08 interps 
SITUATION 10: A1, in the team's frontcourt, passes to A2, also in the team's frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A's backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A's frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A's backcourt, but never having touched in Team A's backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A's backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status . Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1; 4-4-3; 9-9-1)
 
The bolded  portion is what causes issues because the rule book doesn't state that "causing the ball to have backcourt status" is a violation. |  Does anyone have anything that contradicts this Interp?  If not, the OP is a violation.
		 
				__________________I read this forum almost every day, but rarely post.  I have learned a lot!! Thanks to all who contribute!
 |