Thread: False Double?
View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2015, 10:05pm
Refhoop Refhoop is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by bballref3966 View Post
Let me preface this by saying I don't have a problem with what you guys decided to do, but for the sake of your questions...

1. A simultaneous foul occurs when the fouls are committed at approximately the same time. That sounds like what you have here.
2. How do we resume play for a simultaneous foul? See 4-36-1.
3. Was there team control? See 4-36-2-c.
No team control; as the ball was in flight toward the basket, but had not entered the basket. Both fouls happened at the same time: simultaneous fouls or a false double?

Can't this be a simultaneous, false double... holy crap!?!?

8.6.3: If a false double foul involves any type of single foul and any type of double foul, play is resumed with the penalty for only the single foul, as if the double or simultaneous foul had not occurred.
According to this rule and the case for the false double: 4.19.9.A.
We should have reported both fouls, then had A1 shoot the three throws with no players on the lane and given the throw-in to B on the baseline...
Someone tell me why this isn't right please?
Reply With Quote