View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 04, 2015, 06:37pm
Geof Geof is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Having status and committing a violation are not the same thing.

You just have established control in the FC before you can have a BC violation according to the rule. And you must not be one of the exceptions stated in the rule either.

And that casebook play you mentioned does not go along with the written rule. When all else fails, I am going with the rulebook and what it states.

Peace
Having status and committing a violation are not the same thing, as you state. But determining the status of the ball lends itself to determining whether a violation has been made.

The case OKREF states goes along perfectly with the rules. There is team control. The ball being touched in the front court gives the ball front court status while still in team control. The ball goes into the backcourt after having established frontcourt status and is first touched by a member of the same team. Backcourt violation is the call.
Reply With Quote