Clarification issued by Art Hyland 11/4
Do not reset
Play 3
-
With 20 seconds to go in the second period, Team A is behind by 1 point. Team A has possession of the ball in the backcourt with 2 seconds remaining
in the 10-second backcourt count and no timeouts remaining.
A-1 requests and is granted a timeout which is an excessive timeout. The officials chargeTeam A with an administrative technical foul, administer the one free throw and allow Team A to take the timeout. On the ensuing throw-in, does Team A receive a reset of the 10-second backcourt count?
Ruling
-
No, even though Team A was charged with an excessive timeout, it resulted in a technical foul against Team A and therefore Team A does not receive a reset of the 10 second backcourt count.
(Rule 9-10)
|