View Single Post
  #66 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 25, 2015, 10:55am
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,395
No Incidental Contact ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
The NFHS 2015,16 Interpretation says, about the lane space player who crosses the free throw line prior to the ball striking the ring or backboard, "If a defender contacts the free thrower, a personal foul is the correct ruling." Recent indications are that our state association, as others also, will be requiring said contact to be such that it is more than incidental contact. Though I truly believe the Fed intended any contact to be ruled a foul, I'm more agreeable to this "it's a foul if it's a foul" requirement. Official communication will, it was said, be coming out on our state website followed by an email to all officials.
So? A defender crosses the free throw line (whatever that means, front of line, back of line, hand, foot, body?), and enters the semicircle (not sure what that means either) a little early (before the ball contacts the basket ring, backboard, or the shot is made, or missed), turns, facing the basket, to box out the shooter, and in doing so, before the free throw ends (during a live ball), his shoulder lightly brushes the extended follow through hand of the shooter, with no effect on the shot (it's already gone, and no airborne shooter here), no displacement, no possibility of injury, no advantage gained, and no disadvantage given.

Freddy, you "truly believe" that the NFHS wants us to rule this a foul?

(Freddy: I'm not necessarily disagreeing with you, I just would like to spark further discussion on this issue.)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Oct 25, 2015 at 12:01pm.
Reply With Quote