Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
You are going to have to prove otherwise to me. Specifically, what are you claiming is the location of a ball in flight during a pass or try?
Bob, please don't forget that this is from the section specific to a POI throw-in. If you also include the sentence which immediately precedes what you have quoted, you will note that it states "the team that was in control" and that is why "This does not apply to a try in flight." is included in the next paragraph. The rules writers wished to be clear that this throw-in rule does not apply for a try as there is no team control.
"a. A throw-in to the team that was in control at a designated spot nearest
to where the ball was located when the stoppage occurred"
Bob's quoted passage now follows here.
|
Bob provided the proof for you in black and white. This is the only spot in the NCAA-M book that says anything at all about the location of the ball while in flight for a try. You can try to limit this definition to determining the POI for a throw in, however, the case book ruling about where to put the ball in play for shot clock violations clearly indicates that NCAA believes otherwise.
My position is supported by a statement directly from the NCAA-M rule book. Your position is not. The burden of proof is on you.