Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
|
If someone else has an NF reference that the term "playing court" could be construed as including the OOB area, please post it. Thanks. [/B]
|
1)NFHS Rule 8-6-1- "The throw in pass shall touch another player(inbounds or out of bounds)on the court before going out of bounds untouched".
2)NFHS casebook play 7.6.3SitC- "The action takes place on a court which has more than 3 feet of unobstructed space outside the boundary line".
Note that R1-2-1,2 just uses the term "court" also,not "playing court".
[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Jul 28th, 2003 at 08:37 PM] [/B][/QUOTE]
Yes, and in each case where the term "playing court" is used, the book means the inbound portion only. It uses the term "court" without the word "playing" when it means including the OOB portion. NF 1-2-1 says "playing court" and NF 1-2-2 says "court". 1-2-1 defines the boundaries of the inbounds part of the court, while 1-2-2 speaks of what to do if there is not 3 feet of OOB space on the "court", not the "playing court".