View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 05, 2015, 08:57am
Canned Heat Canned Heat is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: West Bend, WI
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by w_sohl View Post
That's what I thought, but according to my white hat, he found it in the rule and case books. I haven't looked yet myself...
Aware that we are discussing PAT here, but same rules should apply regarding the EZ and a scrimmage kick. I think your white hat may be overthinking this one, but I'm curious as to the case book and rule definitions he found. I have almost all in electronic format going back to 2008 and I can't find one to support his logic. But pass along if it's found. Whether it hit umpire or B55, still should be successful PAT.

BLOCKING KICK FROM CROSSBAR
*6.3.1 SITUATION B: During a field-goal attempt, R1, who is in the end zone,
leaps up and blocks the ball away from the crossbar. RULING: Touchback. The
touching by R1 in the end zone causes the ball to become dead, unless the ball
caroms through the goal, thus scoring a field goal.
This is not illegal batting, as the touching caused the kick to fail. (4-2-2d(2); 6-3-1b)
__________________
"Assumption is the mother of all screw-ups...."

Last edited by Canned Heat; Mon Oct 05, 2015 at 09:01am.
Reply With Quote