| 
			
			
	Quote: 
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by PaREF  Short answer...yes, she must contact the ball for it to be a violation.
 Long answer...it is only an illegal back-row blocker violation if the back-row player (while part of her body is above the vertical plane of the net) contacts the ball.  Even if the official would feel that the back-row player is attempting a block, it is only illegal if the blocker contacts the ball (or participates in a completed composite block).
 |  ...or if the libero attempts to block.
		 
				__________________Felix A. Madera
 USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
 FIVB Qualified International Scorer
 PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
 WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
 |