View Single Post
  #39 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 30, 2015, 07:02pm
BigCat BigCat is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
That is correct. But when something else happens later that has other consequences, it takes precedent.

This is not unlike when the penalty for an infraction indicates that a team shall get a throwin but they commit a technical foul before they get the throwin. You move on to the next event and how it is defined.
The rule says if the clock is stopped because the defense knocks the ball out of bounds there is no reset of the shot clock. That is all it says. If the count is at 8 and defense knocks it out of bounds then offense has 2 to get it across. That is what the rule says. There is nothing written anywhere in the rules which says a timeout by the offense after the ball is knocked out by the defense gives a new count. Should it? yes. but that is not what the rule says.

If the stoppage is from defense knocking ball out dont reset clock. If somoebody else fouls after the ball is out of bounds then you are right about subsequent acts taking precedence. there's nothing saying a timeout has that effect...
Reply With Quote