Quote:
Originally posted by RecRef
The rules committee came back with "basketball is played inbounds so a legal guarding position must be inbounds."
Thus, if the defense sets up on the line, or moves on to the line, it's a blocking foul (well, more precisely, "the defense is responsible for the contact"), even if the defense was set for 20-seconds before the contact.
[/B]
|
Situation: B1 is set just inbounds in a Legal Guarding Position, A1 approaches and B1 starts to backpedal and when doing so steps on the line. B1 still backpedaling returns fully inbounds just before contact in made. We have;
[/B][/QUOTE]For B1 to establish their initial legal gaurding position,both feet MUST be inbounds. Now,when contact is made,you just follow the normal block/charge provisos to make the call- if B1 has both feet in bounds when that contact is made.If B1 is OOB,by rule,when the contact is made,it's automatically a block. I think it's actually a lot clearer now.