View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 28, 2015, 03:05pm
BigCat BigCat is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
FWIW, in NCAAW, Team A can call a TO to get a new 10-second count:

QUESTION:

Concerning adjustment to the 10 second back court rule, can you confirm that if a timeout is called, the offensive team gets a new 10 seconds. If so, what occurs if the defensive team deflects the ball out of bounds with 23 seconds remaining and then the offense calls a timeout?

ANSWER:

When the team in control calls a timeout and they have not advanced the ball out of their back court, the team will always receive a new 10-second count to advance the ball into their front court, even when the defense deflects the ball out of bounds, there is a held ball and the AP arrow favors the team in control or there is a technical foul assessed to the team in control.
Does the NCAA-W rule read same or similar? As i said earlier, the offense should be able to buy a new count with a timeout but that isnt what the rule says. i cant read the new rule and determine/extrapolate etc that a timeout gives a new count. the wording doesnt support it. they need to add another sentence.
Reply With Quote