Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
[/B]
|
I was at a camp this weekend and Mary Strukhoff (sp?) was one of the clinicians. I asked her specifically about this point.
The rules committee came back with "basketball is played inbounds so a legal guarding position must be inbounds."
Thus, if the defense sets up on the line, or moves on to the line, it's a blocking foul (well, more precisely, "the defense is responsible for the contact"), even if the defense was set for 20-seconds before the contact.
[/B][/QUOTE]Mary Struckhoff is the Editor of the NFHS rulebook. Sounds like a pretty definitive ruling.
Thanks,Bob.