Thread: First Touching
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 11, 2015, 03:11pm
whitehat whitehat is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 236
First Touching

This is a bit long but bear with me...
I am fairly confident in how the NF "First touching" rule applies under normal circumstances. Seen that in games fairly often. And yet I am still a big foggy on the application of the rule if K is first to touch the kick, then R touches it and thereafter fouls. (What is adding to my confusion is the CASE book situation Ruling 6.2.5 sit. c)

It appears that the ruling does not allow K to retain the ball downfield, even after they have recovered R's fumble (after a first touching by K, foul by R). CB says If K accepts R's foul for holding, then it is enforced from the previous spot since PSK does not apply (Does this mean we give ball to K, after penalty enforcement, for R's holding foul, from previous spot if yardage enough for 1st down. Or, after R holding enforced from previous spot does K get a 1st down, due to R touching it beyond the neutral zone...??). CB also says If K declines R's foul, "then R gets the ball at spot of first touching."

The confusion in my mind may be the difference in when the foul by R occurred (that is what I am asking). In the CB ruling R's foul happened "during the kick" as opposed to R fouling after R had possessed the kick (ending the kick phase). Had R fouled after touching the ball and the kick had ended (say a hold on the return) then K could keep the ball, despite their earlier first touching, if K declines the hold on the return.

Can anyone clear this up a bit for me? :-/

Last edited by whitehat; Fri Sep 11, 2015 at 04:10pm. Reason: reword and typo
Reply With Quote