View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 31, 2015, 06:29am
ump33 ump33 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjb View Post
i got you on 7.5.7 but 7.5.8b seems to contradict
7.5.6 SITUATION: Quarterback A1 drops back and throws a forward pass toward the sideline to A2 who is behind the neutral zone. A2 then throws a forward pass to A3 15 yards downfield.

(a) B1 blocks A2 behind the line prior to A2 touching the ball; or
(b) B1 tackles A2 prior to A2 touching the pass; or
(c) B1 pushes A3 prior to A3 touching the pass, and B1 intercepts.

RULING: Legal block in (a) since interference restrictions for B do not apply to a forward pass that does not cross the neutral zone.
In (b), it is a holding foul by B1.
Legal contact in (c) since there are no pass interference restrictions on an illegal forward pass. It should be noted that A2 has also committed a foul for an illegal forward pass.
Reply With Quote