View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 15, 2015, 11:03pm
JetMetFan JetMetFan is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
He was moving when the contact occurred. There was no reason for the high C on that play. If he had stayed home position he sees the screener coming before the contact.

Stay at home in the C, don't look for reason to move towards the division line.
He just had another screening situation 2 seconds before that called for some movement towards the division line. If he didn't move for that one he wouldn't have been able to see between the players. If he's at FTLE for the second one he's going to be looking at the screener's back and may not be able to determine if there was contact. As a general rule, fouls take place in the space between players. Moving back towards the home position sure didn't help him see that space in this case.


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
I dont want T calling it from where he is at. He could have stepped out and over to keep a count and then perhaps gotten it. Ultimately, there's nothing really else happening in C area. He has to make this call.
As Camron pointed out, the T kept his count going. That's even more reason that the T could've gotten it a bit late. The count meant he was still engaged in the play.

As to "nothing else happening" in the C's area, I disagree. At the moment that contact takes place there are 8 players in the C's PCA. One is in the L's PCA and the other is in the T's PCA, though he still has the closely-guarded count going. That's a lot more than nothing, which is why I commented earlier on the lack of rotation by the L.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote