Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Here are the RULES I go by:
You're saying that if a player passes after starting a shooting motion and being fouled, it was not a shot to start with. Back up that claim with a rule or case play. Show me ANYTHING close to supporting what you're proposing. ANYTHING?
I'm not saying it is always a shot when a player passes, but the FACT is that what follows the foul is not part of the definition of a try.
|
The other part of this is NF 4-11-1/NCAA 4-8, better known as Continuous Motion.
Quote:
Continuous motion applies to a try (or tap...NF def. only) for field goals and free throws, but it has no significance unless there is a foul by any defensive player during the interval which begins when the habitual throwing movement starts a try or with the touching on a tap and ends when the ball is clearly in flight.
|
Granted, if A1 is fouled but can't release the ball (s)he is absolved of the "clearly in flight" requirement but if A1 is fouled and releases the ball by passing it to a teammate, they've told us their intent. I don't necessarily have to read a player's mind as to what they planned to do at the moment they were fouled. Some situations are obvious. However if I'm not certain and they pass the ball prior to completing their legal movement they've answered any questions as to their plans.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
|