View Single Post
  #41 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 26, 2003, 04:05pm
Mark Padgett Mark Padgett is offline
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Lightbulb Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: I've had this discussion with MTD before and he's still wrong...

Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
BUT, quoting from the NFHS Rules Book:

"Rule 9: Violations and Penalties, Section 1: Free-Throw Provitions: A player shall not violate the following provisions governing the free throws: Article 5: No opponent shall disconcert the free thrower."
It seems to me we are hung up on whether the term "opponent" includes bench personnel or just the players on the court. While there is no specific definition of "opponent" in the NF rule book, there is an indication that the term includes bench personnel.

In NF 10-4-1-d, the section under bench technicals says that bench personnel shall not disrespectfully address, bait or taunt an "opponent". If "opponent" did not include the other team's bench personnel, you could not (under this rule) give a technical to a bench player for taunting a bench player on the other team, only for taunting a player of the other team who was on the court. We all know you can issue this T under this rule.

To me, that's enough to conclude that "opponent" includes bench personnel.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote