Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Your comment that the airborne player receiving the throw-in pass has no status relative to frontcourt/backcourt is not correct under NFHS rules. That phrase in the POE is also wrong.
|
Nevada - this is the phrasing from the NF POEs last season. It's on Arbiter:
Quote:
When an airborne player gains possession of the ball during a throw in, a jump ball or while on defense they are considered to have no status as related to front court or backcourt if they (and only that player) return to the floor possessing the ball. The location where they land will determine the location of the player and the ball.
|
Not that I agree with NF's "no status" determination but that's what it says. I do agree with your earlier comment as to what it should be: frontcourt status on the catch, backcourt status on the landing but given the exception it's not a violation. I think that's the least muddled way to look at things.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
|