Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan
The throw-in spot should have been where A2 touched the ball since that was the closest spot to where the violation - ball contacting a player OOB - took place.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
100% correct, but I've observed very competent, very veteran, officials handling this like a throwin that goes untouched out of bounds, and thus, incorrectly put the ball back in play at the original throwin spot. There may have been a rule, or interpretation, from thirty-five years ago, that drives this myth.
Hey Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.: Is this worth a trip up to your attic library?
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
What does the definition of Ball Location tell you?
|
Billy and Bob (sounds like a redneck morning drive time radio team,

):
I am not going to climb up into the attic but, I remember what Bob says is true about a Casebook Play during everybody's favorite,

, NFHS Basketball Rules Editor, Mary Struckhoff, time on the job.
But I also want to say that the Casebook Play was the result of (a) a minor rule change that was very quickly repealed, or (b) the Casebook Play, itself, was repealed. Either way, it did not last very long thank goodness, because JetMan's correct response is how it has been done and it had been done in NBCUSC, NFHS, NCAA Men's/Women's, NAGWS, and FIBA, for as long as I have been officiating and playing as well.
MTD, Sr.