| 
				
				Interference?
			 
 
			
			After a playoff match we were discussing a potential situation during a match.  Similar to something that actually happened but not exactly.
 A ball is attacked at the net and the defensive team touches the attack.  The ball deflects toward the stands and a defensive player pursues the ball.  The ball breaks the plane of the stands and, just as the player attempts to play the ball (while still contacting the floor) a fan reaches up and catches the ball, preventing the player from making a play on the ball.
 
 Now, the ball has completely broken the plane.  Does the fan's contact with the ball constitute interference and result in a replay?  Or does the fact that the ball has completely broken the plane mean that the player has no "right" to the ball and the fan taking away the play results in a point for the attacking team?
 
 This was at a high school match using NFHS rules.
 |