View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 25, 2015, 09:34am
Rich Ives Rich Ives is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by chankel View Post
A fellow umpire asked me about this situation. Bases are loaded, there are 2 outs, and there is a dropped third strike. I told him all runners have the right to try to must advance, and the defense has several options to get the out. The batter runner, or the other runners may be tagged out or forced out prior to them reaching the base they are advancing to (whether they run or not), including the catcher picking up the ball and tagging home plate prior to runner on 3rd advancing home. Am I correct in my answer?
Chris Hankel
With the modification above - yes.

The batter became a runner so the other runners are forced to advance. No different than any other time the batter becomes a runner.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote