Quote:
Originally Posted by jodibuck
First time seeing this in a Fed game. Offensive coach calls time to report a substitute to the plate umpire. While this is going on, the pitcher starts throwing to his third baseman. It was not a long delay (maybe 30 seconds). I'm sure he has been doing this all season. Is this legal?
|
Again, I am a softball umpire, so the rule may be different. The rule in softball says the pitcher has 1 minute to deliver 5 warm up pitches, any after 5 result in a ball to the batter for each after 5. These also is an exception if the umpire is involved in a conference (such as this would be). In softball I would say no problem, and I would assume this rule would be similar in baseball. Since the umpire is involved in a conference, the pitcher would be allowed warm up throws (in this case to 3rd baseman, which would count as warm up pitches before an inning).