View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 22, 2003, 02:34pm
rainmaker rainmaker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Damian
We discussed that at TASO (TX). To have legal guarding position as it relates to a charge or block, both feet must be in bounds. some coaches teach to have one foot out to keep an offensive player from getting around him on the base line. This would mean that regardless of when the defense establishes the position, he would be charged with a block if one foot it out.

My thoughts on this are that there must be some judgement here. Otherwise, a savvy offensive player seeing the one foot out, just go right at the defensive player. I would like to see your comments.
I don't remember seeing this in the list of rule changes that is posted on the NFHS website. Are you sure it's a national change, or is it just a Texas thing?
Reply With Quote