View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 06, 2015, 08:26am
RKBUmp RKBUmp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,318
No I dont consider it a no brainer interference call. There is no requirement to slide. It may be interference, it may not be depending on the situation and umpires judgement.

There must be an available play to have interference. If the batter/runner had already touched 1st base, or was clearly going to beat any possible throw to 1st base there is no possible play.

If it is judged to be interference, then a retired runner has committed interference and the runner closest to home would be out also.
Reply With Quote