View Single Post
  #65 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 20, 2015, 04:40pm
hbk314 hbk314 is offline
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
No. The NCAA standard is written right here as you posted.
"e. Contact dead ball technical foul. A contact dead ball technical foul occurs when the ball is dead and involves contact that is unnecessary, unacceptable and excessive, but does not rise to the level of a flagrant 2
contact technical foul."

The problem is that the rule uses the word "and" while you are applying it as if it said "or" in your attempt to justify calling a tech for just unnecessary contact during a dead ball.

You are fortunate that the powers where you are support your method because the rules book language does not.
Isn't contact that's unnecessary also unacceptable by definition? And the bar for excessive would be significantly lower during a dead ball.
Reply With Quote