View Single Post
  #74 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 20, 2015, 01:13pm
jpgc99 jpgc99 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahoopref View Post
This exact situation occurred to me in a college tournament in December.

I was the L (table side), 3 pt shot came from C area and the ball barely passed over on the way down when the defender grabbed the ball even with the rim. The C & I knew the ball did not have a chance to go in but the T called goaltending because (according to him) his angle justified his call at the time.

I gathered the crew after the whistle and asked them what they saw. We explained to the T what we saw and he knew he made a mistake.

We rectified the call by ruling "inadvertent whistle" and resumed play at the POI when the defender had the ball to keep possession.

Our conference commissioner and supervisor were in the stands and supported our ruling.

The entire crew ended up working the conference tournament a few weeks ago.
Why are you - as Lead - looking above the rim on a try?