Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55
"Art. 3. Goaltending.
a. Goaltending occurs when a defensive player touches the ball during a fieldgoal try and each of the following conditions is met: (Exceptions: Rule 10-4.1.i)
1. The ball is on its downward flight; and
2. The ball is above the level of the ring and has the possibility, while in flight, of entering the basket and is not touching the cylinder."
More like, what does "while in flight" mean. I think that means until the try ends, and the try had not ended. The ball probably would have grazed the front of the rim and fallen or maybe bounced back toward the direction it came from. Would it probably have entered the basket? No. But could it possibly have? Yes. Gutsy call, but I think it was the correct call.
|
While in flight means until it is either 1) made, 2) missed, or 3) touches rim. If the ball hits rim and is coming off and no longer in the cylinder, goaltending no longer applies. So I would say GT never applies after the ball has hit the rim, only BI can apply. Thus, the focus really is on what "possibility of entering the basket" means.