View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 10, 2015, 04:45pm
Zoochy Zoochy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
The plot thickens.

From the March/April 2015 IAABO Sportorials Magazine:

Rules Questions For The IAABO Interpreter

1) A1 is fouled while in the act of trying for a goal. The try is not successful. A1 is awarded two free throws. The first free throw is successful. Upon the release of A1’s second free throw, B3, located in the free throw lane space nearest the free thrower, enters the free throw lane and then, with his/her foot, breaks the far plane of the free throw line prior to the ball contacting the basket ring, or the backboard. The official rules this action by B3 a violation. Is the official correct?

Answer: Yes. Reference 9-1-3-D (may enter the free throw lane; the free throw semicircle is not part of the free throw lane; the free throw semicircle if “off limits” to all, excepting the free thrower, until the ball contacts the basket ring, or the backboard.)
So the players on the lane may (only) enter the free throw lane, and can't go anyplace else, like backing away from the lane toward the sideline?

Why did IAABO jump the gun on this when we haven't heard a peep from the NFHS about this?

I hope that this gets straightened out, one way, or the other, next season. I actually like the IAABO rule, I just don't like they way they did it without (seemingly) any input from the NFHS.
That was the same exact response I received from Peter Webb back in December.
Here is Rule 9-1-3d d. No player shall enter a marked lane space or leave a marked lane space by contacting the court outside the 36-inch by 36-inch space until the ball is released. This rule does not address the situation of breaking the the Free Throw line!
If it is not a problem with NCAA then why is IAABO making it an issue? JUST LET IT GO
Reply With Quote