Surely, a player sitting on a teammate who is sitting on the bench is out of bounds
Rule 7-1: A player is out of bounds when he/she touches the floor, or any object other than a player/person, on or outside a boundary
I suspect the intent of that rule is that a player who is near the sidelines is not out of bounds if they happen to touch someone who is out of bounds.
But, I don't think it intends to say that a player who dives in the crowd and lands on the laps of the fans with the ball would still be considered in bounds.
|