View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 28, 2015, 02:09pm
Rob1968 Rob1968 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes View Post
Can anyone tell me if there's a casebook play addressing the following situation:

Player a one attempt to three-point shot. While the shot is in the air, B1 pushes 82 while jogging for rebounding position. As the try goes through the hoop, the official blows his whistle for the file on B1. Both teams are in the double bonus.

My partner who had made the call, got a little bit confused and couldn't explain to the coach. So I did. I told the coach that because we were in bonus, that the shot counted, and then the player who got pushed would be shooting two free throws for the double bonus. The coach believed that the other team should just be given the ball back from Outabounds throw in underneath the basket.

Can anyone site for me if there's a kids book play addressing this.?
I'm sure you meant ". . . B1 pushes A2 . . ."
The applicable rule is 4-12-6 . . . Neither team control nor player control exists during a dead ball, a jump ball or when the ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal." (italics added)
Case Book 4.12 COMMENT reiterates that statement.
The only Case Book play I found, that addresses a similar play is 10.6.1 SITUATION B. That SIT. addresses a violation and a foul while the ball is in flight during a shot attempt, and includes the bonus being in effect.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote