I'm not saying the defender is not entitled to a spot on the floor if he gets there first. I'm asking what your criteria are for judging this. More and more I'm seeing, as I said, the offensive player changing his path and the defender almost launching to that spot in hopes of beating him there. You guys are saying in this play he did not, that by rule he had LGP and I'm in disagreement. That's not a dangerous position to have and I'd love to be educated here. Tell me how, what are the tell tale signs, you are seeing that the Duke player got there ahead of the offensive player? My question: When does LGP end such that a different position must be obtained to repossess LGP? Someone said the dribbler merely turned his shoulders a bit and that would not merit the need for defensive repositioning. Way back when, like the song says "when Coke was a Coke", thing's were simpler. You did have to be set and that was the parameter used to officiate this play, and it made sense. Offense sees his path blocked, changes direction to a different path, defender must readjust as well. Maybe our only disagreement here is the distance in which we believe the dribbler is changing his path. If all of you that say this is an easy PC call are seeing the dribbler basically maintaining same line of attack then yes I can understand. If you can at least acknowledge that the offensive player is attempting to make almost a 90 degree left turn (ok give me 45) then surely there are some of you that might feel the defense has blocked his path illegally. I know all this language of after LGP his feet don't have to be set, blah blah..I don't think always refers to this play. I believe he should have to be set..or I guess reset. He's about to get blown by and his only hope is to throw his body there jutting his chest out and taking the hit. I mean he is jumping to a different spot and one foot still I n the air trying to head to that spot. Somebody said he shouldda just pulled up and shot a jumper...jeez
|