Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Different issue.
That is covering the case where an official calls a count-based infraction too soon or too late, such as calling a 10 second count after either 8 or 12 seconds have properly elapsed on the clock. The case play is saying that the violation stands regardless of information that indicates that the count is inaccurate.
It is silent about changing the clock to match the official's count when there is no evidence that the clock was started/stopped incorrectly aside from it being different than the officials count.
|
I'm aware of the specific context of the Case play involved.
It seems the discussion here is in regards to a coach or other party thinking that a correction must be made, and the procedure to make such correction.
5.10.1 A refers to the rule, and having "definite information." 5.10.1 D and 5.10.2 refer to "definite knowledge."
Still, the entire rule allows for the less than accurate counting by the covering official, to serve as "definite information/knowledge," and on the less than perfect operation of the timing device and its control, by the Timer, as being precise.
Thus, elements of less than perfect precision are inherently part of the entire process, but by rhetoric are accepted as accurate.
It seems that the time-worn phrase applies: "Sometimes ya just gotta officiate the game."