View Single Post
  #69 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 20, 2015, 10:26am
Raymond Raymond is offline
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
That's why I asked about any difference in interp on this between NCAA and NFHS. Originally, as I said, I thought it to be a legal move: come to a legal jump stop as he did, turn face basket, then pivot on left foot after lifting right foot, and jump from that pivot foot towards the basket for a shot. I still think that is legal, but I'm second guessing myself I suppose when I read from NF 11-12 CB 4.44.2A that says after coming to a jump stop "it is a violation if A1 pivots on either foot".
Clarifications anyone?
NCAA Rule

Rule 4 Section 22. Jump Stop
Art. 1. A jump stop is executed when a player catches the ball while moving or dribbling with:
a. One foot on the playing court, jumps off that foot and lands simultaneously on both feet (no pivot foot).
b. Two feet off the playing court, lands on one foot, jumps off that foot and lands simultaneously on both feet (no pivot foot).
Art. 2. A jump stop may also be executed when the dribbler has one foot on the playing court, initiates a jump off that foot, ends the dribble with both feet off the playing court and lands simultaneously on both feet (either foot can be established as the pivot foot).



If your dribbles ends while airborne, and you land on 2 feet, you get a pivot foot. If you are in possession of the ball (gathered), and you jump off one foot, you get no pivot foot once you land.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Fri Feb 20, 2015 at 10:31am.
Reply With Quote