View Single Post
  #59 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2015, 03:51pm
Raymond Raymond is offline
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Someone may have said it, but it is still wrong. A defender can ALWAYS legally move away from the point of contact. There is absolutely no rule support even close to saying otherwise. Whoever is saying it is making stuff up. Just because some number of officials have called it wrong for years and years doesn't make it right.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
When I say I heard it, I heard it in some form of context from the NCAA. I remember being taken aback about it, as it was just sort of glossed over. I believe I even brought it up here in a thread before the season started.

However, the preseason slides from Art Hyland contain the followin text concerning 4-17-4:

"If defender establishes legal guarding position before shooter becomes airborne, defender may jump straight in the air or move backwards"

I just reviewed the preseason NCAA video, John Adams says the defender may move backwards. But I know I heard or read something "official" from the NCAA saying the defender couldn't move backwards. I wish I would have taken better note of it when I came across the information.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote