Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam
Interesting interpretation of the LGP rule.
Wrong, but interesting.
Also a wrong interpretation of the rule. Players may always move backwards after gaining LGP. In fact, the only direction of movement that costs them their LGP is towards the ball handler.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Actually, I heard the same thing in one of my preseason clinics.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat
No Adam, It's not wrong. It was approved in June by the NCAA oversight panel. If you are attempting to draw a charge on a pass or shot you must be in position before contact occurs and you cannot move in ANY DIRECTION before contact occurs.(except vertically).
and i don't have the time for it until after the season but id like to have a conversation about lgp/rules v how the game has been played for years, and years etc.
|
Someone may have said it, but it is still wrong. A defender can ALWAYS legally move away from the point of contact. There is absolutely no rule support even close to saying otherwise. Whoever is saying it is making stuff up. Just because some number of officials have called it wrong for years and years doesn't make it right.