View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 14, 2015, 02:43pm
johnnyg08 johnnyg08 is offline
Stop staring at me swan.
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,972
FED Experimental DH rule in MN

Are any other states using or experimenting with this FED modification? I had to re-type this from the letter I received in yesterday's mail.

Minnesota Baseball Rule Experiment
Rule 3-1-4
Modify Art 4: The pitcher may be listed as the starting Pitcher/Designated Hitter on the lineup card presented to the umpire-in-chief and official scorer prior to the start of the game. (This will appear as a nine player lineup for the game but the tenth player is listed due to the dual position listing of the starting pitcher.) A hitter may (not mandatory) be designated for any one starting player and all subsequent substitutes for that player in the game. A starting defensive player cannot be listed as the DH in the starting lineup except for the pitcher.

The pitcher can concurrently play pitcher and DH. A DH for a player shall be selected prior to the start of the game, and his name shall be included on the lineup cards presented to the UIC and to the official scorer. Failure to declare a DH prior to the game precludes the use of a DH in that game. If during the course of the game the player is replaced as the pitcher; he can remain in the game in the role of the DH.

If during the course of the game the player is replaced as the DH, he can remain in the game as the pitcher. The player (pitcher) shall be locked into his original slot on the lineup card as Pitcher/DH or both and may reenter the game in either position as any other starter can as long as he has not been removed from both positions.

If a pinch hitter or pinch runner for the DH is used, that player becomes the new DH. The player who was the DH may re-enter as the DH under the reentry rule. A DH and the player for who he is batting are locked into the batting order. No multiple substitutions may be made that will alter the batting rotation. The role of the DH is terminated for the remainder of the game when:

a. the defensive player, or any previous defensive player for whom the DH, batted, subsequently bats, pinch hits or pinch runs for the DH; or

b. the DH or any previous DH assumes a defensive position (except the starting pitcher); or

c. if the player is replaced in both roles, pitcher and DH.
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote