View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2003, 09:01am
Smiley Smiley is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ten Mile, Tn
Posts: 236
The book never says that possession is considered changed when the ball crosses the expanded neutral zone. The only reference to a change in the "clean hands" policy is in the comment on the rules revisions. It doesn't say anything about any change with regards to the inadvertent whistle, so this is still subject to interpretation. There are arguments both ways. The rule says that the basic spot is the PSK spot when among other criteria, K is not in possession at the end of the down. So, who is in possession when there is an inadvertent whistle? Since the definition of possession hasn't changed, I say K is in possession. Therefore, there is no change in the ruling. Previous spot enforcement.
Reply With Quote