Quote:
Originally posted by Smiley
I guess that makes sense. Maybe next year, they'll put it into the rules, instead of a comment. It does seem a little inconsistent, though. What if, in my example, R1 muffs the kick, which then rolls to the goal line, and K3 is in position to recover, but R2 holds him and R3 recovers? Under your interpretation and the comment on the rules revision, R still gets to keep the ball since they got it with "clean hands". They have met all the criteria for PSK. What about the inadvertent whistle rule during a kick. Does R get to keep it? I think not.
|
### If the NFHS interpretation really is or will be that possession changes once a kicked ball crosses the expanded NZ, then surprise surprise if there happens to be an IW while the ball is loose.
Lets go back to 2002 rules, if team-R fouled 20 yards downfield during the kick play and the ball is loose when an IW is blown.. Then, Team-K should be given the option to accept the team-R foul from the previous spot and either replay the down or it might be 1st and 10.
Do you all agree?
Well, lets move to 2003 rules, same play. Who's in possession after the IW? Well, with this not so well thought out interperpretation, it's Team-R. Not only that, all the remaining factors for PSK have now been meet.
Team-R should ne able to keep the ball and have their foul marched off from the basic spot.
This is not what is intended for PSK and not what would be done under NCAA rules. Team-B would never keep the ball, but their foul would be enforced at the previous spot.
This is why (I feel) this notion that possession is to be considered changed as soon as the ball crosses the ENZ during a kick is nonsense.