View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2015, 01:55pm
PG_Ref PG_Ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by ballgame99 View Post
Apparently this is a thing now; the player inbounding the ball on a baseline out of bounds play stands in bounds until their team is set up and then steps back so that you can hand them the ball.

Is this something that should be dealt with, or is it just mildly annoying to me and I should get over it? I guess if it gets excessive you could issue a DOG warning?
Once the official deems the ball is at the disposal of the thrower and has reasonable time to take the ball OOB, the throw-in begins once the official begins the throw-in count.

4-4
ART. 7

A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is:

d. Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count.

4.42.3 SITUATION:

Following a goal by A1 the ball is: (a) inadvertently deflected under the bleachers; (b) bouncing on the court just outside the end line as B1 makes his/her way toward the ball; or (c) lying on the court just outside the end line as B1 delays the inbound by getting instruction from his/her coach. When does the throw-in begin and the ball become live?

RULING: In (a), the official shall signal for the clock to be stopped. The throw-in begins and the ball becomes live when it is at the disposal of Team B. In (b) and (c), the throw-in begins and the ball becomes live when it is available to B1 and the official begins the throw-in count. In (c), the throw-in count begins when the official determines B1 has had ample time to secure the ball; it need not be in B1's possession. (4-4-7d)
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote