View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2015, 05:21pm
Kansas Ref Kansas Ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 633
This is the classic "jump stop" offensive move. No dragging of the pivot once the ball had been gathered and the dribble stopped --player instaneously stopped.

Refs who call this a travel are guilty of one of the cardinal rules of officiating: "inserting themselves into the game". I have nothing on this play.

Message to the Coach: there is really nothing you can do to help your player to avoid the possiblilty that 1 out of 20 times he will be whistled for a "travel" when this move is executed. As evidenced by the variance of opinion within this thread of experienced refs there is no consensus; however, most would pass on this call and let the offensive possesion continue.
Reply With Quote