Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
No matter how many players try/don't try to rebound, if the official didn't count the basket and announced two shots, this is a free throw which is to be followed by another free throw. When it comes off the rim, this ball is dead.
|
That is certainly the general rule but when errors are involved you need the whistle to tell you what to do and what you can do. Ex. A1 fouled in act. awarded 2 FT. One shot and missed. all forget a second shot due. B rebounds, goes down and scores. Then whistle blown, error recognized. It is correctable but we know the basket by B is not cancelled. Points scored before it recognized count. If A would have inbounded the ball after B basket the error wouldnt be correctable at all. B basket counts and A doesnt get its other free throw. All of this even though a free throw to be followed by another was missed. The whistle matters.
In the Op the whistle is blown at a time when the error of not counting the basket is still correctable. At the time the referee announced two shots he was correct. no goal had been scored. But once correction made, now it is counted. Turns out only one free throw was merited. It was shot but only one team attempted to rebound. Go to case play as nevada and mtd say.