Quote:
Originally posted by Ed Hickland
My suspicion is in 2003 it is a double foul under 5-2-2 because according to the rules and even a conversation with Jerry Diehl a double foul and possession do not change with post-scrimmage kick fouls. Since both fouls occurred before change of possession, it is back to the previous spot, 4th and 10. [/B]
|
This is one of those contradictions that needs to be addressed (
http://mysite.verizon.net/~jfurdell/):
A statement in the comments that the receiving team must have "clean hands" until a scrimmage kick crosses the expanded neutral zone implies that team possession changes when the kick crosses the expanded neutral zone. This implication is backed up by Football Fundamental I-3 (page 66), which states "A loose ball is in possession of the team whose player was last in possession unless post-scrimmage kick applies."
However, such a change in team possession is not explicity stated in the rules (Rule 2-32-2 defines team possession).