View Single Post
  #66 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 20, 2015, 03:27am
just another ref just another ref is offline
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
This debate comes up about every 4 to 6 months. It's never solved by consensus, because the NFHS has given both sides a citation that supports opposing points of view:

Case Book 9.5: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent's backboard; or (c) an official and catches the ball after each. RULING: Legal in (A); a team's own backboard is considered part of the team's "equipment" and may be used. In (b) and (c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent's backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19) (italics added)

(And, Fundamental 19 dispells any argument that the ball touching the backboard is inherently different from touching the floor.)
In the plays above it is clear that the intent of the ballhandler was not to dribble. A pass is when the ball is directed to another player. If the thrower is first to touch, the other player is eliminated from the play, creating the violation. Throwing the ball against the opponent's backboard is a unique situation. It was either done by accident or in a misguided attempt to circumvent the rule.

In the case of the player who throws/drops the ball straight to the floor, often inches from his own foot, usually there is not another player to consider in the play. Therefore, in my opinion, it is an immediate violation.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote