Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
Not according to a casebook play.
9.2.5 SITUATION A: Thrower A1 inadvertently steps onto the court inbounds. A1
immediately steps back into normal out-of-bounds throw-in position. The contact
with the court was during a situation: (a) with; or (b) without defensive pressure on
the throw-in team. RULING: A violation in both (a) and (b). COMMENT: Whether or
not there was defensive pressure or whether or not stepping on the court was inadvertent,
it is a violation and no judgment is required in making the call.
|
Very astute of you. I thought of that "no judgment is required" case play. But this is about a thrower who gets fully OOB and then steps in. The case that I'm referring to (and I'm sure many of us see it frequently) is when the thrower never technically gets OOB, i.e. he gathers the made shot, steps toward the endline, pivots while lifting the other foot, and you notice that pivot foot was an inch or two over the line.
I admit this is technically a violation based on the rules interp we discussed in another thread recently when a team starts advancing the ball without having taken it OOB. But when the team has every intention of taking it out properly and there's no disadvantage incurred by an absent defense....I just can't see that as anything other than a game interrupter. So we'll have to respectfully agree to disagree.