View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 18, 2015, 10:41am
crosscountry55 crosscountry55 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Official simply kicked the call. He thought ball was touched after touching backboard above the rim. I would hardly call that smacking the backboard.
Has nothing to do with the ball being touched, nor is there a certain amount of "smack" that is required....

Did he cause the basket or backboard to vibrate while the ball was in the cylinder? Yes. Therefore BI.

Worth clarifying that this is NOT an NFHS rule. That's not BI in NFHS, and the contact with the backboard was not intended to draw attention to the player, so not a T, either.
Reply With Quote