View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2015, 11:56am
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by egj13 View Post
Not disputing here...but why is the play above different than this play?

A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt.

So on a throw in, touch does not constitute control, but on a throw from BC to FC, touch does constitute control. Should be the same if you ask me...

I get where NFHS says it isn't the same...but I wish it was just for ease of consistency.
During a throw in, player control must be established in bounds before the BC restrictions begin. Why? Because they said they want the rule to be done just as it was before they added TC to a throw in.

In the OP, PC has been well established in bounds, and thus all the restrictions are in play.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote