Quote:
Originally Posted by egj13
Not disputing here...but why is the play above different than this play?
A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt.
So on a throw in, touch does not constitute control, but on a throw from BC to FC, touch does constitute control. Should be the same if you ask me...
I get where NFHS says it isn't the same...but I wish it was just for ease of consistency.
|
As jTheUmp answered, because the throw-in starts from out-of-bounds, there is no player or team control "in Team A's frontcourt." And until there is such control, there can be no backcourt violation.
Remember, that "player and team control during a throw-in" is relevant to fouls, and was specifically made part of the rule to overcome the double penalty of losing possession and possible bonus free throw(s) to the opponents, if the throw-in team committed a foul during the throw-in.