View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2015, 02:39am
La Rikardo La Rikardo is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
8.2 SITUATION B:

A1 is fouled and will be shooting two free throws. After A1's first free-throw attempt, B6 (Team B's only remaining eligible substitute) replaces B2. A1's second free-throw attempt is unsuccessful. During rebounding action for A1's missed second free-throw attempt, and before the clock starts, A1 pushes B3 in the back causing B3 to roll an ankle. Team B is in the bonus. B3 is unable to immediately continue playing. Team B requests and is granted a time out in order to allow B3 to recover from the ankle injury so as to remain in the game. B3 is still not able to play after the time out has ended.

RULING: B2 may return to the game and replace B3 and shoot B3's free throw attempts despite having been replaced since he/she is the only available substitute. (3-3-4)
I think this ruling directly contradicts the rules. 8-2: "The free throw(s) awarded because of a personal foul shall be attempted by the offended player. If such player must withdraw because of an injury or disqualification, his/her substitute shall attempt the throw(s) unless no substitute is available, in which case any teammate may attempt the throw(s) as selected by the team captain or head coach."

Despite this, the ruling must be followed. However, the case play is materially different from OP's situation. In the case play, officials have awarded free throws because of a personal foul. In OP's situation, there are no free throws. I don't see any reason why V-14 should be allowed to remain a player.
Reply With Quote